Citrix Pushes Desktop Virtualization in the Cloud

Mike Vizard
Slide Show

Ten Factors to Consider When Moving to the Cloud

One of the benefits of cloud computing is that a lot of internal IT organizations are starting to appreciate is how much simpler deploying and managing desktop virtualization can become.

Recognizing that capability, Citrix released updates to XenDesktop and XenApp that enable IT organizations to use Amazon Web Services (AWS) or any cloud platform that supports the Citrix Cloud by Apache CloudStack to manage desktop virtualization.

In the age of mobile computing, Kevin Strohmeyer, director of product marketing at Citrix, says IT organizations can’t be certain how many desktops they will need to support or how much they will consume in terms of IT resources. In both instances, Citrix is leveraging its Flexcast architecture to provide IT organizations with a single console through which they can manage deployments, complete with end user personalization in the cloud to give users access to desktop services on demand.

While desktop virtualization has not yet been widely adopted, the rise of mobile computing is starting to force the issue. IT organizations clearly want to maintain some level of control. But the days when they could mandate which devices are allowed to access corporate applications are pretty much over. Now IT organizations need a way to centrally manage desktop and mobile computing devices in such a way that the type of device or who actually owns it doesn’t matter.


Putting in place all the tools needed to make that happen is still a little more complex than it should be. But cloud computing affords an opportunity to at least reduce the cost of acquiring the infrastructure needed to support desktop virtualization. Of course, the degree to which desktop virtualization should run on premise or in the cloud will vary by organization. But chances are that most organizations will find themselves using both deployment models, depending on the nature and frequency of access any particular application requires.

Add Comment      Leave a comment on this blog post
Jan 29, 2014 6:38 AM vino999 vino999  says:
an exciting new webinar on XenDesktop 7 coming up on February 13: "Performance Monitoring Best Practices for Citrix XenDesktop 7 - How to Complement Citrix Director & EdgeSight to Achieve Desktop Virtualization Success". Join the live webinar "Performance Monitoring Best Practices for Citrix XenDesktop 7 - How to Complement Citrix Director & EdgeSight to Achieve Desktop Virtualization Success" on February 13 at 2 pm ET | 1 pm CT | 11 am PT | 7 pm UK | 8 pm CET. Register now: Reply
Mar 11, 2016 8:10 AM Stephen H. Howard Stephen H. Howard  says:
Once the one has tried virtualization in the cloud, s/he will never refuse it. As for me this approach is like new way of working with cloud service for those who were confused doing this before. Reply

Post a comment





(Maximum characters: 1200). You have 1200 characters left.



Subscribe to our Newsletters

Sign up now and get the best business technology insights direct to your inbox.