Been having trouble canceling your Facebook account? You're not alone. Until now, "deactivated" Facebook accounts still kept personal information on the company's servers. But on Monday, Facebook announced it will permanently delete all information associated with your account ... if you send them an e-mail telling them to do so, reports The New York Times.
A Facebook group with more than 8,000 frustrated members was what finally caused Facebook to bend, according to this Computerworld piece. Blogger Josh Catone says while not everyone may be beating down the door to delete their information right now, there will probably come a time when they may want to do so. So offering info on their Help page is a smart move on Facebook's part.
Still, some people, like ZDNet blogger Steve O'Hear, think Facebook could do better. O'Hear says the information is buried in the site and the request is poorly signposted. A simple "Delete my account permanently button" would do nicely.