Three Profs Share Turing Award for Model Checking

Kara Reeder

A big congrats to Edmund M. Clarke of Carnegie Melon, E. Allen Emerson of University of Texas at Austin, and Joseph Sifakis at the University of Grenoble. Ars Technica reports that Clarke, Emerson and Sifakis are sharing the 2007 Turing Award from the Association for Computing Machinery.


The profs came up with a technique called model checking, which catches design flaws early on in the software and hardware development process. According to HPCwire, model checking offers "formal verification" that the logic underlying a design is consistent with the designer's specifications. The process is complex and unwieldy, but the pay off is clear: programs that actually work as specified.


The winners not only get the prestige, but also a $250,000 cash prize from Google and Intel.

Add Comment      Leave a comment on this blog post

Post a comment





(Maximum characters: 1200). You have 1200 characters left.



Subscribe to our Newsletters

Sign up now and get the best business technology insights direct to your inbox.

Resource centers

Business Intelligence

Business performance information for strategic and operational decision-making


SOA uses interoperable services grouped around business processes to ease data integration

Data Warehousing

Data warehousing helps companies make sense of their operational data